Scientific Advisory Board

Ron Levy, M.D.

Ron Levy, M.D.

  • Professor of Medicine, Director of Lymphoma Program, Former Chief of Division of Oncology at Stanford
  • Member of National Academy of Sciences & Institute of Medicine
  • More than 20 years research on mAb to B cells; first to successfully treat human lymphoma with a monoclonal antibody, and went on to make important contributions to the development of rituximab (Rituxan®), for treatment of patients with resistant low-grade lymphomas
Neal Rosen, M.D., Ph.D.

Neal Rosen, M.D., Ph.D.

  • Member of Department of Medicine and Head of Developmental Therapeutics at Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center
  • Professor of Pharmacology, Cell Biology and Medicine at Cornell University
  • Played important role in developing tyrosine kinase-mediated signaling inhibitors and pioneered concept that cancer cells are dependent on cellular machinery for protein folding
Charles Sawyers, M.D.

Charles Sawyers, M.D.

  • President-elect of the AACR; former President of the American Society of Clinical Investigation
  • Serves on the National Cancer Institute’s Board of Scientific Counselors
  • Member of the Institute of Medicine of the National Academy of Sciences
David Schenkein, M.D.

David Schenkein, M.D.

  • Agios (AGIO) Chief Executive Officer
  • Adjunct Attending Physician in Hematology at Tufts Medical Center
  • Member of the board of directors for the Biotechnology Industry Organization (BIO)
  • Formerly at Genentech, Millennium Pharma
  • Served as Adjunct Clinical Professor of Medical Oncology at Stanford
Jedd Wolchok, M.D., Ph.D.

Jedd Wolchok, M.D., Ph.D.

  • Chief of the Melanoma and Immunotherapeutics Service at Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center (MSK)
  • Associate Director of the Ludwig Center for Cancer Immunotherapy and the Lloyd J. Old/Virginia and Daniel K. Ludwig Chair for Clinical Investigation at MSK
  • Associate Director of the CRI Scientific Advisory Council
  • Co-editor of the journal Cytotherapy
  • M.D. and a Ph.D. from New York University
Xiaodong Wang, Ph.D., Founder & Chairman SAB

Xiaodong Wang, Ph.D.

Founder & Chairman SAB

  • Director of National Institute of Biological Sciences in Beijing
  • Former Howard Hughes Investigator, Distinguished Chair of Biomedical Sciences and Professor of Biochemistry at University of Texas-Southwestern
  • Member of National Academy of Sciences, USA
  • Founder of Joyant Pharmaceuticals, venture capital-backed oncology biotech in U.S.
Steven Young, Ph.D.

Steven Young, Ph.D.

Acting Head of Medicinal Chemistry

  • 28 years of medicinal chemistry pharmaceutical R&D experience
  • Led chemistry research teams that delivered the widely prescribed HIV drugs efavirenz and raltegravir to AIDS patients
  • Former VP and Head of Medicinal Chemistry at Merck’s West Point laboratory
  • Delivered numerous compounds across a wide range of therapeutic areas into Phase I, II and III clinical programs
  • Ph.D. in Organic Chemistry from the University of California at Berkeley
  • B.S. from Stevens Institute of Technology