联合治疗

靶向疗法能够阻断肿瘤细胞生长和存活的关键生化通路或抑制变异蛋白。回顾以往,靶向疗法能够起到抑制肿瘤进展、诱导肿瘤缩减的作用,能够在病人中形成较高的抗肿瘤应答率。然而,晚期肿瘤患者体内肿瘤与免疫系统作用的复杂性,使得靶向疗法难以解决每位病人体内存在的抑制免疫系统发挥抗肿瘤效应的问题。如果将针对肿瘤免疫机制多个不同环节的疗法结合在一起,很可能产生协同作用,并能够导致更强、更持久的肿瘤抑制效果。因此我们认为,将肿瘤免疫制剂与靶向疗法结合在一起,可能形成更持久的抗肿瘤反应,并提高肿瘤患者生存率。

我们正在开发的一种肿瘤免疫试剂BGB-A317(一种PD-1抑制剂)以及三种靶向疗法,包括BGB-3111(新一代BTK抑制剂)、BGB-290(高选择性的PARP抑制剂)以及BGB-283(RAF突变和二聚体抑制剂)处于临床研究中。我们的小鼠癌症治疗模型及其他研发机构的类似模型中进行的临床前研究显示,在结肠直肠癌和弥漫性大B细胞淋巴瘤模型中,BGB-A317结合BGB-3111对于改变肿瘤微环境和抑制肿瘤生长有重要影响。BGB-A317结合BGB-283则促进了肿瘤中的淋巴细胞浸润,展现了潜在的治疗活性,该组合在RAF/RAS突变的肺癌模型中抑制了肿瘤生长。BGB-A317与BGB-290的结合则在BRAC1/2缺陷型或铂敏感型卵巢癌中显示出肿瘤抑制协同效应。此外,我们正通过临床前途径开发更多的肿瘤免疫和靶向药物,如PD-L1、Tim3抗体以及针对未披露靶点的药物,从而进一步挖掘我们在I-O联合疗法方面的潜能。运用我们先进的癌症生物学平台以及为测试肿瘤免疫联合疗法有效性而建立的小鼠癌症模型,百济神州已做好了开发新一代癌症疗法的充分准备。

我们自己的产品进行内部组合的机会

打印

  • BGB-A317 (PD-1)是联合疗法的基础之一
  • 有充分的理由揭示与我们其它三种临床阶段药物候选物组成联合疗法的可能性
  • 其它临床前药物候选物可针对免疫循环中的薄弱点进行作用

BGB-3111Obinutuzumab (Gazyva) 联合用药

我们在套细胞淋巴瘤模型中研究了BGB-3111与第二代抗CD-20抗体Obinutuzumab联合用药的治疗效果。临床前数据  显示了BGB-3111具有潜在的肿瘤生长抑制效果,而Obinutuzumab在该模型中无活性。但同时也显示,BGB-3111与Obinutuzumab联合用药比单药治疗疗效更显著。

BGB-A317BGB-290联合用药

基于BRCA突变肿瘤细胞系通常具有基因组不稳定性的特点,且肿瘤中的效应T细胞的浸润较多,我们计划开展一项BGB-290与BGB-A317联合用药以治疗以下基因发生突变或缺陷的癌症的研究:乳腺癌基因(BRCA)、同源重组(HR)基因或错配修复(MMR)基因。相关癌症包括卵巢癌、乳腺癌、胰腺癌、前列腺癌、小细胞肺癌和恶性胶质瘤等。这将是百济神州专门针对研发管线内部候选药物开展的首个联合用药研究。

BGB-A317BGB-3111联合用药

基于在临床前研究模型中观察到的良好协同效果,我们也于2016630日启动了BGB-3111PD-1抗体BGB-A317的联合用药研究。在原发性弥漫大B细胞淋巴瘤模型中,我们观察到BGB-A317联用BGB-3111后抗肿瘤活性得到提高,联合用药后PD-L1-PD-L1+的弥漫大B细胞淋巴瘤模型中都可见到效果,而且在PD-L1+模型中抗肿瘤效果更加明显。因此我们推动了该联合用药的临床探索。

Combination Solutions

Targeted cancer treatment blocks essential biochemical pathways or mutant proteins that are required for tumor cell growth and survival. Historically, targeted therapies can suppress tumor progression and induce regression with achieved high rates of anti-tumor responses. The complexity of immune cells with progressing tumors makes targeted therapies unlikely to address the major mechanisms that impede anti-tumor immunity in all patients. The combination of therapies that target distinct steps of anti-tumor immunity may be synergistic and could result in stronger and more sustained responses in tumor destruction. We believe that combining immuno-oncology (I-O) agents with targeted treatments may lead to more durable responses and improved survival rates.

We are developing an I-O agent, BGB-A317 (a PD-1 inhibitor), and three targeted therapeutics including BGB-3111 (a new generation of BTK inhibitor), BGB-290 (a highly selective PARP inhibitor), and BGB-283 (a RAF mutation and dimer inhibitor), which are currently in clinical studies. Based on our own as well as others’ preclinical research in mouse cancer treatment models, BGB-A317 in combination with BGB-3111 has profound effect on tumor microenvironment changes and tumor growth inhibition in colorectal cancer and diffuse large B-cell lymphoma models. The combination with BGB-283 exhibits potent therapeutic activities promoting lymphocyte infiltration in tumor and inhibiting tumor growth in the RAF/RAS mutated lung cancer model. And the combination with BGB-290 has synergistic efficacy in BRAC1/2 deficient or platinum-sensitive ovarian cancer. In addition, we are developing more I-O and targeted agents in the preclinical pipeline such as PD-L1, Tim3 antibodies and agents against undisclosed targets, which we believe will create a great potential to expand our I-O combination capacity. With our innovative cancer biology platform and mouse cancer models built to test I-O combination therapies efficiently, BeiGene is well positioned for the next generation of cancer treatment.

Combination Opportunities with Our Portfolio

  • BGB-A317 (PD-1) serves as one of the cornerstones for combinations
  • Strong rationale to combine with each of our 3 other clinical stage assets
  • Additional preclinical programs target weak points in the immunity cycle

BGB-3111 in Combination with Obinutuzumab (Gazyva)

We have investigated the effect of BGB-3111 in combination with Obinutuzumab, a second generation anti-CD-20 antibody, in mantle cell lymphoma tumor models. Preclinical data shows that BGB-3111 is a potent inhibitor of tumor growth, while Obinutuzumab was inactive in the model. However, the combination of BGB-3111 and Obinutuzumab was significantly more efficacious than either single agent.

BGB-A317 in Combination with BGB-290

Based on the observation that germ-line BRCA mutant tumors often have been reported to have genome instability and increased effector T-cells in tumors, we have initiated the study of BGB-290 in combination with BGB-A317 for the treatment of cancers with mutations or deficiencies in the breast cancer gene (BRCA), or deficiencies in homologous recombination or mismatch repair, including ovarian, breast, prostate, colorectal, and pancreatic cancers, as well as platinum-sensitive ovarian cancer homologous recombination (HR) gene, or mismatch repair (MMR) gene, such as ovarian, breast, pancreatic, and prostate cancers; small cell lung cancer; and glioblastoma. This is the first combination study exclusively based on BeiGene’s internal drug candidates.